Breakout session | Stage 2

Host: Parliamentarians for the Global Goals

This session acts as the official launch event for ‘Parliamentarians for the Global Goals’ (PfGG), which is a new initiative for and by parliamentarians who work on SDG implementation. Parliamentarians play a crucial role in the implementation of the 2030 Agenda: As legislators, holding governments accountable, as representatives and as the link between the multilateral/regional spheres and the people. Unfortunately, the number of parliaments actively engaged in the implementation of the 2030 Agenda is still limited. According to the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU), only 14 % of parliaments around the world are actively working with the 2030 Agenda. The UN has launched the ‘Decade of Action’ to intensify the efforts to achieve the SDGs. This will only succeed if parliaments are actively involved. Parliamentarians for the Global Goals will act as an umbrella organization for national parliamentary SDG groups/committees and individual parliamentarians with the purpose of strengthening peer-to-peer learning and sharing of best practices on parliamentary work on the 2030 Agenda, increasing knowledge sharing and awareness raising among parliamentarians, building and supporting national all-party parliamentary groups, and sharing and supporting policy and campaign initiatives to accelerate action. The aim is to inspire and empower more parliamentarians to push for the most ambitious implementation of the 2030 Agenda, to allocate budget resources and promote legislation that accelerates SDG action on a national, regional and global level. 


[tmm name=”alliances-for-accountability-parliamentarians-for-the-global-goals”]
September 24, 09:00
09:00 — 09:45EST(GMT-4) (45′)

Accountability, Government, Multilateralism, Partnerships

| Host: Parliamentarians for the Global Goals |, Gabriela Cuevas Barron (IPU), Kanni Wignaraja (UNDP), Kirsten Brosbøl (Parliamentarians for the Global Goals), Lukas Köhler (MP German Bundestag), Niels Fuglsang (MP European Parliament), Thure Krarup (UNF), Trisha Shetty (SheSAys)